Preface

The 2016 Mexican Conference on Pattern Recognition (MCPR 2016, June 22-25) was jointly organized by the University of Guanajuato and the Computer Science Department of the National Institute for Astrophysics Optics and Electronics (INAOE); with the consent of the Mexican Association for Computer Vision, Neurocomputing and Robotics (MACVNR) and the International Association of Pattern Recognition (IAPR). MCPR 2016 was the eighth event in the series, MCPR series of conferences aim to provide a forum for the exchange of scientific results and new knowledge, as well as promoting cooperation among research groups in Pattern Recognition and related areas in Mexico and around the world.

In this year the fourth MCPR Postgraduate Students' Meeting (MCPR2016-PSM) allowed discussing research works from both Master and PhD students in order to receive feedback from experienced researchers and advices for future directions, as well as promoting their participation in conference events.

This RCS volume contains original contributions selected through a reviewing process by our Program Committee. These contributions are derived from either Master or PhD students' researches about Pattern Recognition and related areas. We cordially thank all authors for their submitted contributions to build this volume as well as the Program Committee for providing valuable comments and evaluations to authors.

We hope this RCS volume will be useful to the reader interested in Pattern Recognition and related areas, and hope that the meeting itself will provide a fruitful forum to enrich the collaboration between students and the broader Pattern Recognition community.

We would like to thank Research in Computing Science journal editors for giving us the opportunity of continuing to publish a special issue devoted to MCPR-PSM. Finally, but not less important, our thanks go to the University of Guanajuato for providing a key support to this event.

The submission, reviewing, and selection process was supported for free by the EasyChair system [www.easychair.org].

J. A. Olvera-López V. Ayala-Ramírez J. A. Carrasco-Ochoa J. F. Martínez-Trinidad X. Jiang June 2016